#TwitteratiChallenge

Thanks to @thosethatcan for nominating me for the #TwitteratiChallenge . We have never met in the “real world” but I feel a real closeness to her. And we are both Germanists!

My nominations are as follows:

Vincent Lien aka @fratibus – Vincent has really supported me with my MEd studies, providing critical friendship and encouragement online. Unfortunately, our one chance so far to meet up non-virtually was scuppered by a pesky flu which stopped me from attending #rEDCamb this year.

Beth Kelly aka @imisschalk – again, a MEd-related twitter “friend” who contributed regularly to #MEduCHAT back in the day and whose encouragement and support has been greatly received!

Nick Newman aka @newmanswords – a true advocate of Careers Education, we met virtually and are soon to meet face-to-face. Nick’s encouragement, support & advice online and over the phone has recently helped me secure a post as lead teacher for #CEIAG  from September.

Simon Warburton aka @Simon_Warburton – I first “met” Simon via #SLTchat debates a couple of years ago. I was looking to step up into a SLT post and Simon’s blog advice really helped me revamp how I approached applying for jobs. In return, I offered to proof-read his blog, once or twice. We now work together, which is kind of cheating but I don’t care 😉

Richard Spencer aka @richspencer1979 – similar to Simon above, I “met” Richard via #SLTchat some time back. Imagine my surprise when I turned up to a job interview last June to meet someone I follow on Twitter in person! Richard may never know what his words meant to me – emerging from a dark period of my life, and lacking in confidence about my teaching abilities, Richard kick-started my journey to recovery! I got the job, worked with Richard until Xmas, but he has moved on and I so, officially we don’t work together!

@teachertoolkit ‘s rules are: 

  1. You cannot knowingly include someone you work with in real life
  2. You cannot list somebody that has already been named if you are already made aware of them being listed on #TwitteratiChallenge
  3. You will need to copy and paste the title of this blogpost and (the rules and what to do) information into your own blog post

What to do?

  • Within 7 days of being nominated by somebody else, you need to identify colleagues that you rely regularly go-to for support and challenge. They have now been challenged and must act and must act as participants of the #TwitteratiChallenge
  • If you’ve been nominated, please write your own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost within 7 days. If you do not have your own blog, try @staffrm
  • The educator that is now (newly) nominated, has 7 days to compose their own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost and identify who their top 5 go-to educators are. However, as I am a rebel, I nominate everyone. You are not the last to be picked in PE again.

Leave a comment